

Dear Fellow Americans,

We write to you today with grave concern for the safety and security of our communities across this great nation. As sheriffs, our first duty is to protect the citizens we serve, but today, we find ourselves confronted by a growing crisis that threatens the very fabric of our country and its sovereignty: open-border policies.

In the past four years, an estimated 10 to 15 million people have crossed our borders illegally—more than the individual population of 46 states in our union. The failure to enforce our immigration laws has allowed dangerous criminals, human traffickers, and drug cartels to exploit these vulnerabilities. The result is a flood of illegal drugs, particularly fentanyl, into our cities and towns. The impact is broken families, lost futures, and devastated communities.

None of the 19,500 American cities, towns or villages, is safe from this crisis, and no community is immune to the impact. **Every town is a border town.**

The President *alone* can act to fix this crisis. The president can suspend or restrict the entry of noncitizens if it is deemed in the national interest, proclaim a national emergency along the border, and redirect federal funds to construct a border wall. The Biden-Harris Administration has done none of these. And we are seeing the consequences.

We need a commander-in-chief who prioritizes the safety and security of the American people by providing local, state, and federal law enforcement with the tools and resources necessary to combat the influx of illegal drugs and criminal activity.

As your sheriffs, we stand ready to do our part in protecting our communities, but we need the President to act. The lives of Americans depend on it.

Sincerely,

The Sheriffs of America

Sheriff Rich Stanek, Hennepin County, MN Sheriff Chad Leonard, Dallas County, IA

Sheriff Adam Infante, Dallas County, IA Alex Pruismann, Hamilton County, IA Rodger Rasmussan, Crawford County, IA Sheriff Thaddeus, Terrell County, TX Sheriff Russ Martin, Delaware County, OH Sheriff David Thoroughman, Scioto County, OH Sheriff Jamie Patton, Union County, OH Sheriff Brian McLaughlin, Columbiana County, OH Sheriff Vernon P. Stanforth, Fayette County, OH Sheriff Larry Mincks, Washington County, OH Sheriff Jeff Grey, Mercer County OH Sheriff Jeff Bullard, Jefferson County, IL Sheriff Clinton "C.J." Walters, Bradford County, PA Sheriff Gordon Smith Bradford County, FL Sheriff Bill E. Waybourn, Tarrant County, TX Sheriff Chris West, Canadian County, OK Sheriff Mark Cage, Eddy County, NM Sheriff Mike Murphy, Livingston County, MI Sheriff Craig Mast, Oceana County, MI Sheriff Bob Songer, Klickitat County, WA Sheriff Max Dorsey II, Chester County, SC Sheriff Mike Lewis, Wicomico County, MD Sheriff Rick Staly, Flagler County, FL Sheriff Chip Hughes, Craven County, NC Sheriff Gordon Ellis, Brown County, OH Sheriff Chuck Jenkins, Frederick, MD Sheriff Michael T Slupe, Butler County, PA Sheriff Damon Devereaux, Logan County, OK Sheriff James Custer, Fayette County, PA Sheriff Brad Cole, Christian County, MO Sheriff Roy Boyd, Goliad County, TX Sheriff David Black, Otero County, NM Sheriff Rand Henderson, Montgomery County, TX Sheriff Kim C. Cole, Mason County, MI Sheriff Mark Lamb Pinal County, AZ Sheriff Daniel Coverley, Douglas County, NV Sheriff Brian L. Hieatt, Tazewell County, IL Sheriff Carlton Speed, Banks County, GA Sheriff Larry Lane, Sequoyah County, OK Sheriff Eric Flowers, Indian River County, FL Sheriff Tony Guy, Beaver County, PA